Corn Acla Final 2009

Achill Sound / Tonragee 4 - 12 Dookinella/Valley/Dooniver 6 - 3
The 2009 Corn Acla final was played in ideal conditions at Davitt Park on 21st June 2009. A huge crowd turned out for what was a keenly contested, exciting final. 

The DVDs were forced to start without stalwart Tom Calvey who had sustained an injury to his collarbone and his absence was keenly felt. 

DVDs got off to a great start when Stephen Kelly took a pass from Edward Doran and finished it to the back of the net. Roy Mc Loughlin got Achill Sound/Tonragee on the scoreboard with the first of five beautiful points that he kicked in the first half. Goals from Edward Doran and Shane O’Malley were replied to by a goal from Joseph Mc Ginty. Edward Doran and Canice O’Sullivan had points for DVDs while Oisín Cooney and Tomás Randle added points for Achill Sound to leave a half time score of 1 –7 to 3 –2. 

Achill Sound/Tonragee started the second half with a great flourish and had a goal and a point from Joseph Mc Ginty and two points from Roy Mc Loughlin before DVDs got back in touch with a goal from substitute Rory Gallagher. Mícheál Duggan added a point and Joseph Mc Ginty a goal for the winners while DVDs kept in touch with points from Edward Doran and Ryan Gallagher. Joseph Mc Ginty had yet another goal and Brandon Mc Ging a point to put daylight between the teams but Edward Doran kept trying hard and despite scoring another two goals ended up on the losing side for the second successive year.

While there were a lot of goals scored , both goalies had a number of spectacular saves.
Martin Corcoran was an impartial referee.
Denis Randle, Chairman Achill Schools Sports Committee presented the Corn Acla to winning captain Joseph Mc Ginty.
Achill Sound/Tonragee : John Joyce, Tiarnán Cooney, James Gallagher, Alan Mc Loughlin, Alex Davies, Shane Ginnelly, Oisín Cooney, Joseph Mc Ginty, Mícheál Duggan, Roy Mc Loughlin, Dónal Mc Loughlin, Brandon Mc Ging, Tomás Randle.

Subs:  Keith Mc Ginty, Adam English, Joseph English, Mícheál Kilbane, Ferdia Joyce

Dookinella/Valley/Dooniver: Dylan Reilly, Ricky Mc Donnell, Greg Mc Guinness, Brendan Barrett, Edward Doran, Ryan Gallagher, Canice O’Sullivan, Ruaidhrí O’Sullivan, Stephen Kelly, David Calvey, Liam Gallagher, Joseph Murray Shane O’Malley

Subs: Rory Gallagher, Dean Mc Namara, Kieran Lynchehaun, Cathal Conway, Seán Mc Ginty, Colin Masterson, Patrick Murray, Pádraic O’Malley, James Mc Namara