News‎ > ‎

Juniors win

posted 21 May 2018, 14:04 by Achill Gaa   [ updated 21 May 2018, 14:09 ]
Junior Championship Group 1 Round 2 
Ballycastle 1-07  CLG ACLA 1-08 

Although the low return on the scoreboard may not suggest it, this was a game that had everything for the considerable amount of supporters that travelled north for the Championship Round 2 clash. Achill led from the outset, going in 3 points up at the break, 0-6 to 0-3. The pace upped a gear in the second half, but it was Ballycastle who did the bulk of the scoring, with Micheál and Fergal Forde in particular, causing no end of problems for the visitors. Their efforts made things all square at 0-7 apiece as the game entered the final stages. A John Joyce free put a tiny bit of daylight between the teams once more, leaving the spectators wondering if it would be enough to see Achill over the line. Injuries to to Ballycastle players Micheál Forde and Kevin Healy meant a longer than usual period of injury time. It was in this period that the scores of the day were converted. Brothers Gerard and Johnathan Fadian combined well to offload the ball to stalwart Micky D McNamara who, as on so many other occasions, made no mistake as he stuck the ball in the back of the net. Achill 4 points clear! A chance to breathe more easily? Not likely! In the blink of any eye, the ball was in the back of the Achill net. Achill supporters could only look on anxiously in the hope that the whistle would blow quickly - which it did, signalling the end of an excellent showdown. 
Following Kilmovee Shamrocks’ defeat of Ardagh this evening, Achill’s championship group remains wide open. Achill have won two, Ardagh and Kilmovee have both won and lost a game and Ballycastle have lost 2 games. Round 3 is expected to be played in early July. Well done to our lads this far! 

Patrick Lavelle, Ciarán Boylan, Finnian McNamara, James Gallagher, Pete Gallagher, Eddie Doran, Fionnbharr Gallagher, Stephen Grealis, Toirlach Dever, Denis Taxi McNamara, Brian Lavelle (0-1), Tiarnán Cooney (0-1), Michael Dara Sweeney (0-1) Micky D McNamara (1-0), John Joyce (0-5, 0-4f) 

Subs used: Gerard Fadian for Brian Lavelle, Johnathan Fadian for Denis Taxi McNamara.