The first concrete step to establish a firm club base and to ensure a steady supply of young footballers was taken in May 1948 when Achill Priests and Teachers met in the Parochial House, Achill Sound under the chairmanship of late Very rev. Father John Godfrey, P.P. and established Cumann Lúith-Chleas Bun Scoil Acla. 

It was decided to hold an Annual Schools' Sports confined to primary school children and in conjunction with these sports to hold a schools' football league, the final of which would be played on the day of the annual sports. There was a whip round among the members and a Cup - An Corn Acla - was purchased for £10. The move proved a resounding success. 

The first school team to win the Corn Acla competition was Dooagh N.S. in 1949 when they defeated Achill Sound. However the Corn Acla cup had not yet been purchased and Ashleam N.S. was the first team to receive the cup the following year under the tutorship of one of the great Achill GAA personalities, the late Denis Gallagher. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam. 

It is a source of great pride that the competition has been played every year since 1948. 

Ashleam NS team, first recipients of the Corn Acla 
Back row, l. to r. Leo McNeela, Martin McGinty, Tony Mulloy, Josie Gallagher, Josie Cooney, Manus Kilcoyne, Michael Kilcoyne (RIP), John J. Mulloy. 
Front row, l. to r. Tom Johnston, Tony Gallagher, John Barrett (Capt.), John M. Kilcoyne,

The first winners of the Corn Acla competition in 1949 were Dooagh N.S. under the management of Mick Lynch, a native of Longford who had recently moved to Achill having secured employment with CIE. 

He introduced the local boys to Gaelic football and led them to the very first Corn Acla final. 

The following team defeated Achill Sound in the final: 
Tommy McNamara (Lively) (Capt.), Michael Kelly, Patrick Gielty, Tommy McNamara (Chongie), Anthony Ruddy, R.I.P., Con Mangan, Eoin Lavelle, John Thomas McNamara, Anthony McNamara, Michael McNamara, and Patrick Lavelle. 

There were no presentations as the Corn Acla was not yet purchased and medals were not presented in the early years. To redeem this omission Cumann Bunscol Acla organised a special 50th anniversary ceremony on Sunday June 13th 1999, prior to the 50th Corn Acla final in Pairc an Daibheidigh, where Donncha O Gallchobhair R.I.P., co-founder of the Corn Acla competition, presented the team and representatives and their trainer Mick Lynch with special 1949 inscribed medals." 

Corn Acla winning teams.
** Additional dates are to be confirmed on this page

1949 Dooagh 
1950 Ashleam 
1954 Currane
1957 Derreens 
1958 Derreens 
1959 Dooagh 
1960 Dooniver 
1961 Dooniver 
1962 Tonragee 
1963 Bunacurry 
1964 Currane 

1965 Derreens 
1966 Dooagh 
1967 Dooagh 
1968 Dooagh 
1969 Dooagh 
1970 Currane 
1971 Achill Sound/Tonragee 
1972 Dooagh 
1973 Dooagh 
1975 Dookinella/Slievemore 
1976 Bullsmouth/The Valley 
1977 Achill Sound 
1978 Bunacurry/Saula 
1979 Dooagh 
1980 Dooagh 
1981 Currane 
1982 Dooagh 
1983 Dooagh 
1984 Derreens 
1985 Bunacurry 
1986 Valley/Dooniver 
1987 Valley/Dooniver 
1988 Bunacurry 
1989 Dooagh 
1990 Achill Sound 
1991 Bunacurry 
1992 Bunacurry 
1993 Bunacurry 
1994 Dookinella 
1995 Bunacurry 
1996 Achill Sound/Tonragee 
1997 Achill Sound /Tonragee 
1998 Bunacurry 
1999 Bunacurry 
2000 Dooagh 
2001 Achill Sound /Tonragee 
2009 Achill Sound /Tonragee (Click here for match report)
2014  Grainne Mhaol